2020 Distinguished Alumna

List of 1 items.

  • Laurel School Alumna Dr. Ellen Rome ’80

    Dr. Ellen Rome ’80 - Head of the Center for Adolescent Medicine at Cleveland Clinic Children’s and a Professor of Pediatrics at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University

    Colleagues at the Cleveland Clinic describe pioneering physician Dr. Ellen Rome ’80, among the first in the US to be board certified in Adolescent Medicine, as “a doctor’s doctor and the person to consult for the most difficult issues involving adolescent patients.” The Head of the Center for Adolescent Medicine at Cleveland Clinic Children’s and a Professor of Pediatrics at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine at Case, Ellen is dedicated to the care of adolescents, particularly those with eating disorders, a topic on which she has lectured locally, nationally and internationally and authored numerous publications. She has served as president of the International Federation for Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology and also is co-author with Dr. Mehmet Oz and Dr. Mike Roizen of two books: You: The Owner’s Manual for Teens, and You: Raising Your Child: The Owner's Manual from First Breath to First Grade.
    Read More

2020 Young Alumna of Distinction

List of 1 items.

  • Laurel School Alumna Grace Livingston ’06

    Grace Livingston ’06 - Community Leader in Grief Management and Mindfulness Training

    Many of us deal with stress and pressure by drawing inward. But not Grace Livingston ‘06. Shortly after her 30th birthday, Grace was diagnosed with late stage ovarian cancer. Faced with a devastating disease, she turned outward and has leveraged her skills, knowledge and compassion to become a community leader in grief management and mindfulness training.
    Read More

2020 Lifetime Achievement Award

List of 1 items.

  • Laurel School Alumna Betsy Kaufman Sampliner ’58

    Betsy Kaufman Sampliner ’58 - Educator and Community Volunteer

    Betsy Kaufman Sampliner ’58’s motto is simple: “Math is 99% how you feel about yourself as a math student.” This longtime teacher and a graduate of Smith College knows that what defines success is not only how her students perform on a math test, but their sense of self and how they feel about themselves as learners in general.
    Read More

Alumnae News

List of 3 news stories.

View All News

Past Distinguished Alumnae

These are the remarkable women role models on whom the Alumnae Association has bestowed its highest honors. [YAD = Young Alumna of Distinction; LA = Lifetime Achievement]

List of 46 items.

  • 2019

    Gwill York 75
    Co-Founder, Lighthouse Capital Partners

    Meghan Thornton Parquette 01, YAD
    Principal, Brooke Roslindale Charter School

    Janet MacMahon Carll 48, LA
    Community Volunteer
  • 2018

    Marne Levine ’88
    Chief Operating Officer, Instagram

    Tamara Broderick 03, YAD
    ITT Career Development Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Massachusets Institute of Technology

    Kathy Chilcote Pender ’55, LA
    Community Volunteer and Psychotherapist
  • 2017

    Deborah Becker ’73
    Research Senior Associate and Director, the IPS Employment Center, the Rockville Institute at Westat

    Caitlin Leibert ’03, YAD
    Head of Sustainability, Chipotle
  • 2016

    Holly Gleason ’81
    Writer, songwriter, music journalist, critic and publicist

    Nichelle McCall ’01, YAD
    Tech Entrepreneur
  • 2015

    Shelley Osmun Baranowski '64
    Historian, Author, Distinguished Professor
  • 2014

    Mary French Conway ’46
    Community Volunteer

    Lt. Katherine Wirtz ’05, YAD
    Officer, US Navy
  • 2013

    Sandy Buchanan ’74
    Executive Director, Ohio Citizen Action

    Emily Johnson Jackle ’98, YAD
    Organic Farmer
  • 2012

    Barbara Peterson Ruhlman '50
    Philanthropist, Community Volunteer, Fundraiser
  • 2011

    Kathryn Hellerstein '70
    Assoc. Professor at the University of Pennsylvania, Poet, Scholar/Translator of Yiddish poetry

    Tiffany Laufer '91, YAD
  • 2010

    Heather Roulston Ettinger '79
    Advocate for women and their financial health

    Amanda Cinalli '04, YAD
    Professional athlete (soccer)
  • 2009

    Virginia "Ginny" Foote '73
    President & Co-Founder of the US-Vietnam Trade Council

    Camilla Taylor '89, YAD
    Attorney, Lambda Legal
  • 2008

    Elizabeth D. McKinley ’78
    Physician, Academic Society Dean at Case Western Reserve Univ.

    Roopal Patel '89, YAD
    Physician, President's Initiative on Malaria
  • 2007

    Kay Sproat Chorao '54
    Children's book illustrator and author

    Kathleen Sullivan ’85
    Nuclear disarmament activist and educator
  • 2006

    Carol Madison Graham '74
    Executive Director of the US-UK Fulbright Commission
  • 2005

    A. Lindsay Frazier ’76
    Pediatric oncologist and researcher
  • 2004

    Mary DeCredico '77
    Author, historian and Vice Academic Dean, U.S. Naval Academy
  • 2003

    Virginia deConingh Fleming '48
    Activist for social reform
  • 2002

    Katharine Lee Reid '59
    Director of the Cleveland Museum of Art
  • 2001

    Elisabeth Galvin Kirsch ’58
    Founder/Director of domestic abuse shelter
  • 2000

    Nina Freedlander Gibans ’50
    Arts advocate extraordinaire
  • 1999

    Anne Hopkins Burnham '47
    Community activist, preservationist

    Elizabeth Morrison Marcotte '69
    Environmentalist, energy conservation consultant
  • 1998

    Sylvia Robinson Cruess '47
    Physician, hospital administrator and health policy maker
  • 1997

    Sally Pastorelle Reed '57
    Physician and founder of a free clinic
  • 1996

    Anne Hollis Reese '55
    Mental health educator
  • 1995

    Betty Hitchcock Rose '33
    Civic Activist and Inventor
  • 1994

    Joan Shook '72
  • 1994

    Priscilla Tyler '26
    Educator and specialist in Aboriginal literature and art
  • 1993

    Kathryn Beck Kris '51
  • 1993

    Lucy M. Ziurys '75
  • 1992

    Donna Ferrato '68
  • 1991

    Jean Steel '53
    Nurse Practitioner
  • 1990

    Andy Logan Lyon '38
    Journalist, Columnist
  • 1989

    Gwill Linderme Newman '50
    Brain research and mental health activist
  • 1988

    Helen Teagle Clements '26
    Lobbyist for nursing home standards
  • 1987

    Anne O'Neil '46
    Provincial, The Sacred Heart Order in the United States
  • 1986

    Mary Ellen Beck Wohl '50
    Chief of Respiratory Diseases, Boston Children's Hospital
  • 1986

    Elaine Grasselli Hadden '49
    Community Revitalization Activist
  • 1985

    Myra Evans Lapeyrolerie '77
  • 1985

    Louise Ireland Humphrey '37
    President, Metropolitan Opera Association
  • 1984

    Terry Horvitz Kovel '46
    Authority on antiques/collectibles
  • 1983

    Susan Crile '60
  • 1982

    Ann Denton Blair '31
    Radio and TV Bureau Chief
  • 1981

    Mary Feil Hellerstein '39
  • 1980

    Natalie Moore Babbitt '50
    Children's book author/illustrator
  • 1979

    Elizabeth Brooks Ford '14
    Public health and nursing education advocate
  • 1978

    Kate Ireland '48
    Chair, Board of Governors, Frontier Nursing Service
© 2018 Laurel School. All Rights Reserved.