Laurel Speech and Debate Team Has Strong Start to the Season

Laurel Speech and Debate has had a great first month of the season!
Dorothy Bogen '20, Ria Raj '21 and Leah Honeycutt '22 have all qualified to the state finals by placing at local tournaments. This is the earliest point in the season that our team has ever had State Qualifiers. Katie Arendt '20, Sarah Hatem '21, Abby McGowan '21 and Jane Jusko '21 all have bids to the state finals, and we look forward to their continued success. Our novice speakers and debaters did very well in their competitive debuts with Abby Preston '23 and Eliana Cohen '22 earning tournament championships at the Cleveland District Novice Tournament. Dorothy Bogen was tournament champion in United States Extemporaneous Speaking at Hawken School and Chagrin Falls High School, Ria Raj was tournament champion in International Extemporaneous Speaking at the Edison Tournament, Leah Honeycutt was tournament champion in Lincoln Douglas Debate at the Mentor Tournament, and Sarah Hatem and Abby McGowan were tournament champions in Public Forum Debate at Mentor. Our team of 38 Upper School students have all grown so much as speakers, and coaches Stephanie Kahn '10 and Rich Kawolics are excited to see continued progress and success throughout the rest of the season!
© 2018 Laurel School. All Rights Reserved.